Always Be Thankful

image“Always, always, always be thankful”

My friend posted this on Facebook and it struck a chord in my heart this morning. I’ve been diligent about posting something I’m thankful for each day in November. I’m sure I’ve missed a day or two, but overall I’ve been consistent. Some thoughts were deeper than others; like thankful for amazing friends versus thankful for clearance racks. Some days an idea came easily; other days it was more of a discipline to find something in my day because we’re living in this limbo land of a trans-pacific move. But even when in limbo-land, it rings true.

Always, always, always be thankful.

Even on a day when I’m incredibly bored of hotel breakfast and I can predict which day we will have turkey sausage, pork sausage, andouille sausage, or bacon. Because…seriously…I have breakfast provided daily by friendly staff.

Even on a day when everything from shoes to hair to the position of a car seat are massive battles of the will that leave me in tears because I’m so weary of holding the line. I’m thankful those days because this fighter-of-mine is God’s amazing creation and I have faith that her strong spirit will mature into something beautiful.

Even on days when I wake up to 36 texts in a WhatsApp group and my heart aches for my loss because lunch at Tolidos or a Christmas brunch sound like soul-food right now. But then I remember that I will share eternity with these ladies and knowing them is still a huge blessing.

Even on days when my I open my son’s school folder and I find his math test with only two questions answered and a neat question mark on everything else. Then, I talk to his teacher and learn she is fighting for him to get all the extra support he needs and she literally tears up because she cares so much. I’m thankful for today’s struggle because the end will be that much more valuable.

Even on days when everything seems to make me miss Singapore…a cinnamon Christmas tree, a cup of hot cocoa, a good jog, a hike along a little used trail. Because I realize how those memories can link me to a real person who I can FaceTime or Whatsapp or email or simply call. Technology is worth being thankful for. And my life is richer because of all the places I’ve lived.

Even on days that I’ve said ridiculous things like, “Stop licking your sister!” or “No, you cannot wear shorts and a t-shirt when there’s frost on the ground…even if you want to!” I can be thankful because I have the awesome privilege of being mom to my two crazy munchkins and they give the best hugs when I’m sad.

Even on days when Brian is suddenly traveling and the plans we made need to adjust because he has a great job and is loving the chance to still travel and be in charge of an aircraft and happy husband equals happy life.

Even on days when I grieve because I see hatred and evil and malice and envy. On days that I wonder if there’s still good buried deep in people’s hearts. On days the news talks about another shooting, another bombing, another hate crime, another missing child. Even on those days I am thankful because I can be kind, I can show compassion, I can give a hug and brighten one person’s world…even when so much of the world is dark.

Always, always, ALWAYS be thankful.

“Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, rejoice. Let your reasonableness be known to everyone. The Lord is at hand; do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.”
– Philippians 4:4-8

Leave a comment